Horse Racing Gambling

Get into scorching horseracing action!


Triple Crown

The Triple Crown is the pinnacle of horseracing achievements for three-year-old thoroughbreds. It requires winning three of the biggest stakes races in the world, back to back to back, all within a five-week stretch that starts on the first Saturday of May.

The races, in order of running, are The Kentucky Derby, The Preakness Stakes two weeks later, and The Belmont Stakes three weeks after that. Each of these races is a prestigious event in and of itself but when a horse combines to win all of them the feat becomes legendary. In fact, only eleven horses have been Triple Crown winners.

Triple Crown Winners

1978 Affirmed Steve Cauthen Laz Barrera Harbor View Farm
1977 Seattle Slew Jean Cruguet Billy Turner Karen Taylor
1973 Secretariat Ron Turcotte Lucien Laurin Meadow Stable
1948 Citation Eddie Arcaro Ben A. Jones Calumet Farm
1946 Assault Warren Mehrtens Max Hirsch King Ranch
1943 Count Fleet Johnny Longden Don Cameron Mrs. J.D. Hertz
1941 Whirlaway Eddie Arcaro Ben A. Jones Calumet Farm
1937 War Admiral Charley Kurtsinger George Conway Samuel Riddle
1935 Omaha Willie Saunders J.E. Fitzsimmons Belair Stud
1930 Gallant Fox Earl Sande J.E. Fitzsimmons Belair Stud
1919 Sir Barton Johnny Loftus H. Guy Bedwell J.K.L. Ross

There have been 42 horses who won two of the three races. Here are the ones to win the first two and miss on the third.

2004 Smarty Jones 2nd (Birdstone)
2003 Funny Cide 3rd (Empire Maker)
2002 War Emblem 8th (Sarava)
1999 Charismatic 3rd (Lemon Drop Kid)
1998 Real Quiet 2nd (Victory Gallop)
1997 Silver Charm 2nd (Touch Gold)
1989 Sunday Silence 2nd (Easy Goer)
1987 Alysheba 4th (Bet Twice)
1981 Pleasant Colony 3rd (Summing)
1979 Spectacular Bid 3rd (Coastal)
1971 Canonero II 4th (Pass Catcher)
1969 Majestic Prince 2nd (Arts and Letters)
1968 **Forward Pass 2nd (Stage Door Johnny)
1966 Kauai King 4th (Amberoid)
1964 Northern Dancer 3rd (Quadrangle)
1961 Carry Back 7th (Sherluck)
1958 Tim Tam 2nd (Cavan)
1944 Pensive 2nd (Bounding Home)
1936 Bold Venture (Did not start)
1932 Burgoo King (Did not start)

**Won on disqualification.

Bet On Your Favorite Horse Now!